i wrote my friend a love letter of sorts

Sometimes my heart just swells up with so much love for you, my best friend.

Best Friend doesn’t even cover it.

I don’t know what the proper term is for us.

You are easily everything I could ever ask for someone to be and more.

And it’s frustrating sometimes simply because I don’t know how one properly explains or shows someone how deep their affection goes.

You make me laugh in my hardest moments and yell with me and you’re brutally honest even when I’m not asking for that and usually it’s what I really need to hear, even if in that moment I’m not willing to listen.

Fiercely protective and understanding.

You are honestly my rock. My anchor out at sea when the water gets rough.

I know that we won’t be together always, and these next few months before the next school year are some of our last where we will be together on a truly regular basis. And I’m both sad and so extremely excited for you and me and seeing where we both will go, with and without each other.

I know our paths won’t always overlap, but I hope that they can be side by side, crossing and winding around together throughout our lives. On little adventures together, always a new little side story at some point as life goes on.

I don’t know where I would be without you today. You honestly bring out the best in me everyday and challenge me to question myself and my methods; albeit sometimes in a way that bugs me in the moment. At the end of the day though, I know I am better for it. And I don’t know how to tell you how much I appreciate you for that.

I am so thankful to have you in my life. The love that I experience for you is the purest and most selfless kind of love I think I have ever been able to experience and it is so refreshing. Nothing about our relationship makes me stressed or upset ever, even when we argue over little things or get into silly fights over silly things. Everyday that I get to spend with you is my favorite day and I cherish each and every moment that I get to spend with you. Our relationship feels almost… magical. Surreal. I don’t know how to describe it. I just know that it’s exactly what I need and am looking for in my life right now, and to have it be so perfectly fulfilled by someone who is so incredible and selfless and loving is such a warm and fuzzy feeling.

To be able to have found “my people” in you and your mother and Lori is such a beautiful gift, I don’t know if you fully understand just how thankful I am to be able to consider you my best friend and more. I think that relationships are too complex for all the boxes of labels that we try to create for the people in our lives, and you truly transcend the simple title of “best friend”. I honestly don’t know what exactly you are to me, but I’m just fine with that, as long as I get to have you by my side in some way for every step.

You are my favorite person to be with. You are my “needy girlfriend” and my biggest supporter. You make me a better human and you challenge me in ways I can’t think to challenge myself and that is something I appreciate more than you know, even if it doesn’t always seem like it.

I love you Sophie. And I’m really going to miss fooling around with you next year and in the years to come, but I know that we will always have a home in each other, and that gives me more happiness than you might ever really know.

Thank you for helping me be the best person I can be, and thank you for being my best friend. Now go have fun at College, you crazy kid. 😛

Much Love,

Naomi

Leave a Reply

